twilight

Twilight, the Movie. Directed by Catherine Hardwicke
Rated: PG13
Commonsensemedia.org rating: 13

Bella Swan moves in with her father in Forks, Washington. It is almost the end of the school year. Bella is assigned to sit next to mysterious Edward Cullen in biology class. Edward keeps his hand over his mouth and looks like he is about to throw up. It turns out, he was fighting the urge to suck Bella’s vegetarian blood. Such is the basis for romance.

This movie starts out with Bella contemplating her own death. “I’d never given much thought to how I would die. But dying in the place of someone I love seemed like a good way to go.” But she is not talking about donating a kidney; she is talking about letting Edward suck her blood so she becomes a vampire too. The whole idea of romanticizing throwing your life away at such a young age makes me mad. I know girls that have read this book and followed the bad boy instead of going away to college. At 29 years old, one is still living 4 to an apartment and smoking pot on the beach as she attends massage school.

But maybe I give Bella too much credit. Maybe she will end up working at the local diner for the rest of her life. Maybe she is such a dolt, this is her one chance for something exciting to happen to her. The girls that read this rubbish, however, are probably decent students with a life ahead of them. The series is 3 thick books. I can only hope that the girls that read this book and watch these movies grow up and out of the idea of throwing themselves away for a bad boy.

Sex and violence alerts: There is a big chase scene that ends with Bella being bit on the leg by a vampire that is a bit grisly. There is one make out scene with Bella in her underwear. Overall, I agree with the PG13 rating. I would let my 13 year old watch it, but definitely not my 11 year old.

